Love notes for our baby

When I saw the “Love Notes” challenge at Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge blog, I thought first about romantic gestures, of course. But that will be a later project.

My next thought was of the baby book I’m creating for my son. I consider it one big love note, something that will tell him how much he was loved right from the start, in case his mama is not around to tell him sometime. My own baby book served that role for me, once, so that’s a big part of why I started scrapbooking.

The page I’m sharing today also covers a different kind of “love note”. A musical one! This page shares a little song that my husband made up for our little guy just a day or so after he was born. We are always making up silly little ditties around our house.

20140209-224547.jpg

Ingredients: bubble wrap print I made a while back, MFT hearts stencil, Tattered Angels Glimmer Mist, Archival ink, Distress ink & marker, Martha Stewart custom letter stamps, Sizzix circle framelits, gesso

Learning: Lots of innovations and new combinations of techniques here for me. I’m mixing media like never before, and I think I’m starting to hone in on a style I can be proud of.

Loving: I love how the repetition of circle and heart shapes worked out. I think it makes the straight edges of the lyrics pop all the more. I like how the hearts are there, but definitely a muted and unobtrusive part of the background. I had a lot of fun with the “letterpress” style of the Martha Stewart stamps too.

One thought on “Love notes for our baby

  1. Lovely layout, I love the backdrop and the photos showcased in circles. Thanks so much for joining in the Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge. Tracy x

Leave a Reply

