Holiday wrap up

I haven’t done any challenges in the last week or so because I’ve been frantically getting cards finished and out of the door, and then pikes of holiday cookies to make, etc. If I had more forethought, and less need for haste, I would have liked to have done the dramatic project-end photo with all the piles of cards I made this season.  But alas, there was need for haste.  Next year I will start sooner, and do better.  I have a plan to do a couple of holiday cards each month until fall, then do a couple a week.  I feel like that will work better.

I think I’ll call that my crafting New Year’s resolution: I will spread out my holiday card making so that I am done and ready to send all of my mailable cards by December 5th.

Still, I feel proud that I finished over 30 handmade cards since I started at the beginning of November. Not bad work either, considering that I also had to collect addresses from some friends and relatives, because I haven’t sent holiday cards in at least a decade.

Before I call this the end of holiday card blogging, I want to share one last project that was a gift-card holder for a subway gift card.  I’m particularly proud of this one, so I was glad to see that that Inkspirational Challenges is having an “Anything Goes” share.

The sandwich card photo 2

This was all hand-drawn and hand cut.

Ingredients:  I used Distress inks, a blending tool and Distress markers.  I used Sissix Movers & Shapers photo corners to cut the decorative card-holding brackets.  The stamp is from Inkadinkado.

Learning:  This is another project that encourages me to find inspiration, and reach for ambitious projects.  I saw a card somewhere on Pinterest that depicted an ordinary square sandwich as a picnic invitation.  It made me think, why can’t I make a subway sandwich that holds a Subway gift card?

Loving:  It was a big hit with the recipient, and my fellow gift givers. I was really happy with the the way the ink blending went, especially where I made the toasty bun.

One thought on “Holiday wrap up

  1. Amazing! I can’t believe you did it all by hand. How clever and unique. Thank you for joining us at Inkspirational Challenges. Come back next time! Marina

Leave a Reply

