Tea across the sea

This card is going to be sent as part of an international card swap with gamers. It was also created with the Mojo Monday card sketch 322 challenge as the inspiration.

20131208-214225.jpg

Ingredients: My Mind’s Eye Lost & Found Christmas, Flourishes Christmas Tea stamp, Inkadinkado joy stamp, Distress markers and inks, Recollections ribbon, Glue Dots dimensional dots, rounded corner punch

Just to throw out a note on methods, I only have a very few markers.  So a lot of times when you see I’ve colored something in, I have used a combination of markers and regular wet paintbrushes dabbed onto my Distress ink pads.  It works surprisingly well, and it’s kept me from running out and buying every marker in the universe.  The markers are rather more convenient though, and I would love to have more.  But I have to draw a line somewhere with my craft spending.  I’d rather have more techniques available to me than convenience.

Learning:  This was a great sketch to work with, and working with sketches has really helped me get better at thinking about layout.  I just hope adding this extra dimensionality doesn’t make it too hard to mail!  I’ll find out when I visit the post office later this week!

Loving:  I love my adorable new Christmas teacup stamps!!!  I guess they must be retired, because I found them on ebay, not on the Flourishes website.  But they are a nice quality and I just love tea and antique teacups, so these charmed my socks off!

Leave a Reply

