Color me light green

I got some good crafting time in this holiday weekend, which has allowed me to try playing in a new-to-me challenge: The Color Throwdown. With a name like that, it’s got to be fun, right?

So the challenge from Color Throwdown was to use: crumb cake, silver, gum ball green, and white.. I didn’t have exactly gum ball, but I got pretty close. I didn’t see an “about” section, so I’m curious as to where they get their evocative color names and ideas. Maybe I’ll find out as I follow along.

20131201-223435.jpg

Ingredients: Recollections Lost & Found Christmas paper (green), silver glitter David Tutera Celebrate A7 card (silver), plain card stock (white), DCWV the Natural matstack (crumb cake), Sizzix tree die, Studio G glitter glue, Recollections silver embellishment, Archival Ink, stamp from Inkadinkado

Learning & Improvement: I feel like I could have filled the green space better. I need to pick up more holiday sentiment stamps so that I can fill up a larger space when needed. I also feel like the piece could have used a little distress or something. Somehow it feels like it’s missing a little detail or depth.

Loving it: Despite not having the exact right green, I just love the way the colors came together! I think I’ll do more Color Throwdowns in future, because it’s so much fun to dig out papers that match the colors and see where the papers lead!

6 thoughts on “Color me light green

  1. This is such a pretty Christmas card…I love the tree and the beautiful silver paper in the background!!! Thanks for joining us for the Color Throwdown Challenge!!!!

  2. Our color names are based on the colors from Stampin’ Up, although it is never necessary to use those exact colors, as you figured out. We use those because they seem to be the most universally recognized color names in the stamping world. Your card is a perfect use of the colors, and very pretty! Thanks for joining us and hope you come back again!

    • Thank you so much for letting me know! I’m pretty new to the stamping world, so I didn’t recognize the color names! There are so many great resources for color inspiration out there.

  3. Glad you played along!! Love your tree and the green is just perfect- the silver paper looks wonderful!! Thanks for joining us at CTD!!

  4. It’s always exciting to see new people playing along with us in our Color Throwdown challenges! Glad you found us and hope to see you again in our gallery. We use Stampin’ Up color names, but you certainly do not need to use their papers…which is why we say to just use something that’s close and to have fun! This is a great card using the current colors!

Leave a Reply

