Little toy soldier

The lovely sketch challenge this week at the Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge blog immediately made me think of a present. Like a wrapped gift, with the criss crossed “ribbons”. Who brings gifts? Santa does! What kind of presents does Santa bring? Toys! Or at least that’s how it works in my version of this card.

20131126-234305.jpg

Ingredients: My Mind’s Eye Lost & Found Christmas paper, Tim Holtz blueprints stamp, Ranger Archival ink in sepia, Shattered Core’dinations kraft, ribbon from Recollections, Chit Chat seasonal stickers, Distress marker

Room for improvement: I need to pick up a die or stamp set to make cute little banners. I thought about freehanding a banner, but I think what appeals to me is the formality of a banner as a designated space for titles, so I think freehand wouldn’t cut it in this case. I think that formality might be a good contrast to my otherwise informal/distressy style.

Loved it: I think the style and color of the stamping went well with the paper, but my favorite thing about this project was the sketch itself, which I can’t take credit for. I just felt like this sketch was easy to make work, and very cute and “gifty” looking.

2 thoughts on “Little toy soldier

  1. Gorgeous card 🙂 the toy soldier is fabulous and I love the papers and colours, very cute 🙂

    thanks for joining us on the Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge
    luv
    Lols x x x

Leave a Reply

