Gingham and grunge

This challenge comes from the Shabby Tea Room: “Gingham Country Christmas”, requiring the use of Christmas theme, gingham pattern, red, cream, and blue. For this card, I wanted to explore what happens when gingham gets a little grunged. But the problem was, I didn’t have any gingham paper, and I’m trying hard not to buy more paper at this point.

Luckily, the gingham pattern has got to be about the easiest thing to make in Illustrator, and 50% of my day job is graphic design, so I know my way around the program. It’s a quiet weekend at home with my husband working on a research paper, so it was the perfect time to make more digital papers. I say ” more” because I’ve been fooling around with digital paper ideas for over a month now. I’d ideally like to make some for sale on Etsy, but I have a lot of questions about how other people use digital papers.

This is something you can help me out with, dear readers! I’ve put up a survey over here along with a rainbow of free gingham digital papers that you can download if you wish. If you do take the survey, or leave a comment, then I thank you very much!

Back to the card:

20131124-020405.jpg

Ingredients: my own gingham papers, Distress inks, Sizzix tree die, Sizzix Movers and Shapers flourish, My Mind’s Eye Lost & Found Christmas paper, Holtz Seasonal Chitchat, rhinestone from Recollections

One thought on “Gingham and grunge

  1. I love that tree die cut and your gingham paper you’ve made is great 🙂 Thanks so much for playing with us at The Shabby Tea Room!

Leave a Reply

