A lady of mystery

There’s a lot I don’t know about my mom’s side of the family because I lost her when I was a preteen, before family history sounded interesting.

Since I’ve had my baby, I have been on a mission to dig up more info on my mom’s side to add to my son’s baby book, and then later start a more comprehensive book of family history for myself. Ancestry.com has been a big help for names, dates and places, but I often wish I had more backstory. I have a few picture from a box of my mom’s old things as well. Some are marked, and others aren’t.

So when I saw that the challenge for the Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge blog was “It’s a Mystery“, I immediately thought of my puzzlement over some of the photos in the box. I had posted some on Facebook and had heard back from older relatives about one. Another was marked on the back, but it was from far enough back that I wondered why someone had done a portrait photograph of the teenage girl because solo photos of children seemed a bit uncommon back then. The third was of an incredibly elegant woman, with only the inscription on the back “For Dick from Mom” to guide me. Based on the fact that the older elegant woman looks similar to the younger elegant woman, and the fact that this woman had a son named “Richard”, I’m going to guess that they are one and the same.

20131124-143903.jpg
Therefore, I believe that these three pictures are younger and older pictures of my great grandmother, and a picture of her mother as a young girl. But who knows for certain?

Ingredients: Sizzix movers & shapers flourish die, Crowded Attic Salvage stickers, rhinestones from Recollections, buttons from stash, lace from stash, Distress inks, Tattered Angels Glimmer Mists, Emboss It! Pen in black, Ranger super fine embossing powder.

Mysterious ingredient: dryer sheets

One thought on “A lady of mystery

  1. What a great story (and mystery) and how lovely to be have photos of women in your family at different ages like that! Thanks for joining us for this week’s Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge!

Leave a Reply

