Picking a layout

When I first saw the “Pick a Sketch” Timeless Tuesday challenge at Flourishes, I assumed they were talking about using something that looked hand drawn, in addition to using one of the example layouts but none of the examples reflected that. I finally figured out that they were referring to what I thought of as a layout as the “sketch”.

Regardless of my confusion over the jargon, the idea of trying a suggested layout seemed like a terrific way to get my creative juices going. That’s a major reason that these challenge blogs are so appealing to me right now – I want to make all my own holiday cards this year, and the challenges are keeping me from having a creative block.

Oh, and I’ve also recently won “Designer Spotlight” accolades over at Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge blog, and I won a random drawing for commenting on a mystery blogger over at Flourishes winning one of the stamp set called Friendship and Flowers from their November release. So praise and prizes are also good motivators to keep me crafting and posting!

Back to the “sketch”: two layouts were offered, and I picked the more square one, since they are quicker to cut without a die. It does make me want to pick up square and circle nested dies, though. I think they’d be a bit of a time saver. Doing a predefined layout was really fun, since it let me focus more on color and textures. It was also instructive, because it got me to work with a lot more layers than I previously have. It will be interesting to see how much variation there is among the final products.

20131117-231727.jpg

Ingredients: sizzix Christmas tree die, Recollections ribbon, rhinestone and Rustic Luxe paper, Inkadinkado stamp, My Mind’s Eye Lost and Found Christmas paper, Stickles

2 thoughts on “Picking a layout

  1. What a fantastic Christmas card! I like the rustic feel with the earth toned dp and that beautiful velvet ribbon, and the texture you added to the tree die cut was a very nice touch! Congrats on your recent wins–well-deserved, your SSS Monday quilt card is adorable! Thanks so much for joining us in this week’s Timeless Tuesday Challenge!

  2. You did a fabulous job with the sketch!!! Congrats on your double win… you’ll love the new stamp set “Friendship & Flowers”. Good luck on making your holiday cards this year – a sketch or layout is always a great way to get those creative juices flowing! Thanks for playing along with our Timeless Tuesday Challenge this week. I look forward to seeing you participate in the future!

Leave a Reply

