Simon says Simple

For my second ever challenge blog entry, my inspiration challenge came from the Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge Blog. I’m not sure why they support two challenge blogs, but I’m delighted that they do. Monday is for the vintage, antiqued style while Wednesday is for a modern, fresh look. I think they’ll accept entries of all stripes, but I suspect the challenges lend themselves to either look. I think of it as Tim Holtz vs. Martha Stewart, two aesthetics I admire, so I’m happy to experiment on either side as time allows.

This week’s challenge is “Keep it Clean & Simple“.

20131110-230647.jpg

I embossed another of those clearance pearlescent A2 sized white cards (David Tutera, I think) with a Sissix folder called Alpine Flowers, and added a die cut “Holly & Berries 6”. The die cut was washed with a little diluted “Walnut Stain” Distress ink, and later I added some red acrylic paint for the berries. I love the result, very elegant. However, since the embossing folder and die came together in a set, I’m not sure this represents the most out-of-the-box creative thinking. I mean there wasn’t a picture of them used together, I just really doubt I’m doing something unique here. Oh well. At least I succeeded at my goal of being able to enter another challenge and complete another card.

Until next time, keep those stamps inky…

One thought on “Simon says Simple

Leave a Reply

