Lost & found

My keen-eyed husband did help me find that lost sock needle the day after I had lost it.  There was more daylight, but I probably still wouldn’t have spotted it myself, because it was sticking out of the ground directly towards where I was sitting to look.  Thus, it was nearly invisible to me, a tiny chrome needle projecting straight out at me as it was.  My husband had a different angle on the scene, and thus found it.

But it got me thinking about lost tools.  The Yarn Harlot often makes light of losing tape measures, and I know lost DPNs are common enough being small and roll-inclined.  I certainly never seem to have enough stitch holders, but I think this is a factor of my many works-in-progress more than an indication that I’m really losing stitch holders.  Stitch markers are easy enough to misplace, but not having worked any enormous lace shawls yet, I’ve never run out of the little implements. 

I usually take excellent care of my needles, having crunched a beautiful wooden one in a car door once, I have been extremely good ever since about what needles I use on the road and what needle cases I bring for their protection.  I made several needle rolls many years ago that keep all my favorite straight needles well organized, and I always have my Knit Picks binder of Options needles handy by the couch for emergency gauge changes.  So I never lack for needles either.

image

Needle roll

But there is one category of tool that I am frequently losing and always buying more of:  cable needles.  I love a nice smooth cable needle, either plastic with a bendy spot, or wood with a groove or divet to keep the stitches from slipping off.  But I am constantly dropping them in the car, losing them in the couch cushions, or just simply discovering that my cable needle is no longer attached to the project I had been using it on.  I suppose it’s because cable needles go on and off of the project so often, they are just easier to misplace.  While working in a cable project, where do you set your needle when not using it?  I often stash it back in it’s project bag, tuck it behind my ear, or jab it into a previous part of the knitted work.  In the car, the cable needle often gets stashed in the door handle well along with other yarny detritus.  But all of these locations have led to lost cable needles at some point.

And I know, no one really needs a cable needle.  I’ve heard that here are methods of cabling that use no needle at all (heresy!), and I have used stitch holders, pencils, and safety pins in desperation.  But I really like cable needles.  I just find them to be a satisfying way to knit a cable.  So I guess I will continue to buy and lose and buy cable needles, doing my part to advance the knitting economy (because who would just buy a cable needle and be done shopping?).

Has anyone invented a cable needle that can’t be lost?  What knitting tool do you lose or destroy the most?

Until next time, keep those needles clicking…  and hang onto your tools.

Leave a Reply

